Over Sea and Under Stone

Over Sea and Under Stone, The first of Susan Cooper’s five Dark is Rising books, begins with an engaging mystery. Simon, Jane, and Barney Drew, staying with their parents in the Grey House in Trewissick, Cornwall, discover an ancient parchment that depicts what appears to be a treasure map. But the story takes a frightening turn when deciphering and following the manuscript’s directions propels them to the center of a battle between the forces of Dark and Light. Reckless courage is called for and, youngest to oldest, they prove up to the task. Aided by Great-Uncle Merry, who may be more than he seems, they must recover an ancient chalice and protect it from relentless pursuers.


Cooper’s suspenseful concluding chapters in Over Sea and Under Stone will keep you anxiously turning pages (or listening intently if you chose the audio version).


But it’s not over for you when you come to the last page; not if Cooper has left you wanting more. The next book, titled, the same as the whole sequence of five, The Dark is Rising, awaits you. A satisfying prospect if ever there was one.

About patte

Department Head-Childrens
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s